Social Presence

Quick Enquiry

International Education & Immigration Consultants

Skilled Migration


The Skilled Migration Program is an official Government initiative to overcome skill shortages within the Australian workforce and to identify individuals who can make a valuable contribution to Australia’s economy.Australia’s economy is thriving with over 150,000 jobs being advertised each week and unemployment rate is at its lowest level.


If you are a skilled professional, tradesperson or student graduating from an Australian university, you can qualify for unrestricted Australian working rights for you and your partner, allowing you to secure employment without the requirement for sponsorship.


Australian Government statistics confirms 89% of Skilled Independent visa holders gain employment within first 6 months and 92% within 18 months.


The General Skilled Migration (GSM) subclasses are now closed and department is not accepting applications for following visas:

  • Skilled – Independent (Migrant) Visa (subclass 175)
  • Skilled – Sponsored (Migrant) Visa (subclass 176)
  • Skilled – Regional Sponsored (Provisional) Visa (subclass 475)
  • Skilled – Sponsored (Residence) Visa (subclass 886)
  • Skilled – Independent (Residence) Visa (Subclass 885)
  • Skilled – Regional Sponsored (Provisional) Visa (subclass 487).
  • Skilled - Independent Subclass 189
  • Skilled - Nomination Subclass 190



Introduced on 1 July 2012, Skillselect has changed the way people seek to migrate to Australia. Rather than applying for a skilled migration visa, you have to instead first record your details through an online Expression of Interest. SkillSelect is an online service that enables skilled workers and business people interested in migrating to Australia to record their details to be considered for a skilled visa through an Expression of Interest (EOI). Intending migrants can then be found and nominated for skilled visas by Australian employers or state and territory governments, or they may be invited by the Australian Government to lodge a visa application. More information on SkillSelect is available on the Department of Immigration & Citizenship’s (DIAC) website.


Skilled migration stream requires all Applicants to meet certain basic or ‘threshold’ criteria :-

  • Skills assessment in a nominated occupation from the relevant occupations list (SOL)
  • Age: in general, applicants must be aged between 18 and 50
  • English language ability:most applicants will need to sit for formal English language testing
  • Recent employment in a skilled occupation orcompletion of two years of study in Australia

Applicants are generally assessed against a Points Test which incorporates the basic selection criteria as well as other factors for which you can obtain additional or bonus points towards your final score. To be successful, you must achieve the pass mark.


Following are the Skillselect subclasses for Skilled Migration Stream:


Skilled Independent (Subclass 189):
This points-based visa is for skilled professionalswhose occupation is on relevant skilled occupation list, have good English language skills and not more then 50 years of age when the invitation is issued. Certain family members can be included in the application.

Read More.


Skilled Nominated (Subclass 190):
This points-based visa is for skilled workers who are nominated by a state or territory. A visa holder can live and work permanently anywhere in Australia. If you are nominated by a state or territory and meet the basic requirements for this visa, you will then receive an invitation to apply. Certain family members can be included in the application.

Read More.


Skilled Nominated (Provisional) (Subclass 489):
This points-based visa is for skilled workers who are nominated by a state or territory or sponsored by an eligible relative living in a designated area in Australia. The visa is valid for four years, and a visa holder must live and work in a specified regional area. Certain family members can be included in the application.

Read More.


Employer Sponsored/Nominated Visas:
The Australian Employer Nomination Scheme (ENS) grants permanent residence to overseas workers who are sponsored by their Australian employer. The Employer Nomination Scheme is specifically designed to enhance Australia's ability to compete globally while satisfying genuine shortages in the Australian skilled labour market.

Read More.


Other Skilled Visas:
Other visa categories relevant to Skilled migration.

Read More.

Let Us Call You